Of Fire and Stars

I finished reading this book at 2 am this morning and I loved it. I will definitely read it again and I am so happy I discovered this book. I read this book as part of diversity bingo which if you haven’t heard of is a reading challenge set up like a bingo card that encourages you to read more diversely. I joined it this year to actively try to read outside my comfort zone. I used this book to cover the square for arranged marriage.

I found this to be a very easy read. By the time I was finished with chapter 1 I was completely hooked and the book just flew by. The book itself is fairly short at only 389 pages. I really hope there is going to be a sequel to this book as I absolutely could not get enough of this world and I just want to keep reading about Mare and Denna. This was the authors debut novel so we’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

(No spoilers) Basically this book is about two princesses; the first is Dennaleia who as the youngest is in an arranged marriage to a prince from another kingdom. The second is Amaranthine who is the sister of the prince Dennaleia is engaged to. There is an assassination attempt and the two princesses try to discover the truth of who’s behind it and end up getting closer together in the process and might be developing feelings for each other.

As I said, I really loved this book and I will most definitely be recommending it to everyone. Thank you so much to Emmmabooks of booktube for talking about it on your channel and introducting me to this wonderful world.

The next book I’m going to be reading is also for diversity bingo although I’m not sure which square I’m going to use it for yet as there are a couple of options. The book is called everything, everything by: Nicola Yoon. This book is actually being made into a movie adaptation which comes out very soon so you’ve probably seen the trailer for it already. If you haven’t the book is about this girl who’s allergic to everything and can’t go outside. She gets new neighbors and the boy befriends her and they develop feelings for each other.

The synopsis on this book is very vague and I honestly probably wouldn’t have bought it if I hadn’t watched the movie trailer which gives us a little bit more detail. I always like to read the book before I watch the movie if I know about the book beforehand. So this is my next read and I will post more when I finish the book. The original cover on this book is gorgeous by the way.

Happy reading everyone!

